Happy Early Birthday!

Well, I’m not going to go through the usual “was he born ten minutes before midnight” or “was he born ten minutes after midnight” whimwam… George, wherever you are, we love you.

I must take this moment to mention a book, A Date With a Beatle, which is all about the exciting true events and mishaps leading up to an obsessed fan’s meeting with her idol–our dear George. It’s a really fun romp and my friend Judith, the author, is hilarious. I highly recommend checking it out.

11 Comments

  1. Samantha said,

    February 24, 2012 at 10:54 pm

    I’m so pleased you mentioned “A Date With a Beatle”! I purchased it several years ago, and read it in one sitting. What a fast, fun, fantastic story. If you are a Beatles’ fan, you should read it. If you are a George Harrison fan, you MUST read it! Written in first person, I felt as if I was along with Judy for the ride. But, by the time I got to the next to last chapter it was no longer Judy having this experience, it was I. And what an outstanding, once in a lifetime moment it was!. Ah yes, if only in my dreams!
    Happy Birthday, dear George – You are loved!!!

  2. Joy said,

    February 24, 2012 at 11:52 pm

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY GEORGE – EVEN THOUGH YOU ARE NO LONGER WITH US YOUR BEAUTIFUL SPIRIT WILL LIVE ON FOR YEARS TO COME – THANK YOU GEORGE FOR THE LOVE AND MUSIC YOU GAVE US TO APPRECIATE YOU MORE THAN EVER

    R.I.P. MY SWEET LORD
    HARE KRISHNA

  3. Jalee said,

    February 25, 2012 at 1:03 am

    I LOVE that book! So amazing, I couldn’t put it down! 🙂

  4. Hilda said,

    February 25, 2012 at 4:35 am

    I can’t find the book in a library. I read on the Net in reviews, she almost got arrested in her quest to see her idol, but George intervened. Nice of him to do that. Did they do out to dinner or an amusement park? That’s definately something to tell the grandkids.

    • Judith West said,

      February 25, 2012 at 10:17 pm

      If it isn’t in your local library, just ask and they’ll get it in for you!

      (Especially if the librarian is a Beatle fan) 🙂

  5. Betty said,

    February 25, 2012 at 6:05 am

    I just purchased “A Date With a Beatle” on my kindle. Can’t wait to read it.

  6. Judith West said,

    February 25, 2012 at 4:47 pm

    Well, what lovely postings to find on my favorite Beatle’s Birthday!!!

    Ladies… you made my day!!!!

    Thank you for enjoying the book, it was a joy to write and the trip of a lifetime to experience!

    WHAT a wonderful man he was. 🙂 xoxoxoxox

    ~Judy

    • Betty said,

      March 1, 2012 at 12:28 am

      I absolutely enjoyed this book. There is so much I can relate to, since I am from Philly and was at the Atlantic City convention center the same time you were. So many locations in Philly I have been to, such as Frankford where I landed my first job. Remembering the Tioga train station, Logan movie theater and WIBG radio station with disc jockey Hi Lit, I remember this all too well. Lots of memory of my youth was awaken, just reading your book. Thanks for the memories and writing this book about my favorite Beatle. What an amazing experience!

      • Judith West said,

        March 8, 2012 at 12:11 am

        Betty…. where did you go to school? Where did you live in Philly?

        AND… I’m thrilled you loved the book! What a fabulous time to be a teenager, and especially where we lived – we were so close to all the BIG venues!!!

        If you would be so kind and place a review for it on Amazon I’d be delighted! Everything helps. 🙂

  7. Callie said,

    February 26, 2012 at 4:05 am

    Happy Birthday, George! I love you!

  8. Betty said,

    March 27, 2012 at 1:13 pm

    Hi Judith,

    I attended Kensington high school up until the 11th grade and finished at Benjamin Franklin high night classes. I resided in the Tioga/Nicetown section of Philadelphia and later moved to Mt Airy/Chestnut Hill area.

    I will definitely put in a good review of your book. Of all the books I have read about the Beatles, yours is the best so far, in my opinion.


Leave a Reply

