THE DOCUMENTARY.

I wanted to remind you all, dear readers,that tonight, (October 5th), in a two-part series, HBO and Martin Scorsese present GEORGE HARRISON: LIVING IN THE MATERIAL WORLD.

I have  a great clip of Sir Paul McCartney recounting his first introduction to George Harrison and  three clips of Martin Scorsese speaking to HBO about the film. You can find those here:  http://www.georgeharrisonoutreach.com/index.php/outreach/section/Video

I also have some spectacular stills of George Harrison throughout his life, you can find those here: http://www.georgeharrisonoutreach.com/index.php/outreach/section/Photos

Many thanks to Raimy Rosenduft for sending me this official information,plus this description:

Academy Award®-winning director Martin Scorsese traces Harrison’s life from his musical beginnings in Liverpool through his life as a musician, a seeker, a philanthropist and a filmmaker, weaving together interviews with Harrison and his closest friends, performances, home movies and photographs. Much of the material in the film has never been seen or heard before. The result is a rare glimpse into the mind and soul of one of the most talented artists of his generation and a profoundly intimate and affecting work of cinema.

Enjoy, my lovelies.I do not have HBO. 😦

15 Comments

  1. Mabel said,

    October 5, 2011 at 9:56 pm

    I signed up for cable just so I could watch the George Harrison documentary. The first month is FREE! Check w/ your local cable provider.

    Thank you for your website. It was great to see a posting today. I have enjoyed going back through the archives looking at pictures of George.

    • puppatoons said,

      October 5, 2011 at 10:06 pm

      sorry I have been very lax over the summer–been very busy with work!

      • Mabel said,

        October 6, 2011 at 1:41 am

        No worries…..I can’t believe we are in October already!!

  2. Aly said,

    October 6, 2011 at 12:10 am

    I don’t have HBO either. I really hope that a DVD will be released in the US soon! I just got the book today, and am so excited. The cover is George-ous!

  3. Julia said,

    October 7, 2011 at 8:39 am

    OMG I love George Harrison! I really want the book too! I hoping I can get it for Christmas!

    • Joy said,

      May 27, 2012 at 5:23 pm

      If you didn’t receive the book Julia I have an extra copy of one. The reason I’ve got 2 is that I bought myself one and the other a friend of mine gave it to me for my birthday which was in April. So if you’re still interested let me know where you live because if it’s in the US I may consider sending it to you (if the cost isn’t too much) but if you’re international ‘sorry I can’t help you’.

  4. Diana said,

    October 10, 2011 at 8:06 pm

    The HBO documentary was terrific. There was footage, photos, and even demos of songs that I’ve never seen/heard before. George was a very interesting man. Ringo gave a heartbreaking account of his final moments with George. Paul looked near tears too as he told what he misses most about George. My husband and I cried.

  5. Joy said,

    October 23, 2011 at 10:27 pm

    I got the book and it’s fantastic! For people living in the US there is a LIFE magazine publication it’s a commerative issue GEORGE HARRISON 10 YEARS LATER also there is a paperback titled WORKING CLASS MYSTIC: A SPIRITUAL BIOGRAPHY OF GEORGE HARRISON. I just picked up the Life magazine a few weeks ago and the paperback last week.

    I don’t know if these publications are in other parts of the world but I got these at Barnes & Noble bookstores.

  6. beatlebug4evr said,

    November 10, 2011 at 11:59 pm

    i heard about the documentary and book earlier this summer and thought *GASP! JELLY BABIES! 8D* I HAVE TO KEEP MY EYES OPEN FOR THIS!!! but later, i found out the evilness of hbo having people pay extra to watch their programs… :/ i felt very sad. but later my sis’s friend found a pic of it in a magazine, gave it to my sis, and she gave it to me. so now, i have it in the front pg of my life: remembering george harrison magazine :3

  7. beatlebug4evr said,

    November 11, 2011 at 12:01 am

    also, i have a friend who lives in liverpool who told me that they aired it later in england, which i still don’t completely understand… O.o

  8. Hilda said,

    November 12, 2011 at 5:30 pm

    It must be heartbreaking for the remaining two Beatles to reach their senior years and George and John are not there to share the memories of long ago fame. It dawned on me that Patti and Cynthia are the only two living first wives.

  9. Danielle said,

    November 17, 2011 at 11:49 pm

    hello. I am Brazilian. I saw the documentary film on the festival of Rio incredible feeling to see the entire documentary (both parties were shown) along with other fans of the Beatles and George, of course. I cried a lot. Thanks to Olivia for giving us a gift like that. sorry my poor english. love your blog

    Danielle

  10. Suzanne said,

    November 23, 2011 at 1:22 am

    Just now saw this post. Would like to say, “no worries” about no HBO; by the time you read this, the DVD will be available. I believe that was the plan- to have it available almost immediately after it had its’ run on HBO- which, by the way, was approx. every other day, about twice a day, for about most of October.

    A short assessment: It had a couple of interviews I had never seen, but the most telling thing to me, was the very end, when different people told how things transpired at the end of his life, his last d. I could see it in my mind’s eye


Leave a Reply

