Washing Georgie’s Car!

This is a fantastic piece of memorabilia discovered at a site called Letters of Note. The letter is described as a “tongue-in-cheek, step-by-step guide to washing his car – from Hamburg in 1962 to a young female by the name of Susan Houghton”, who struck up a friendship with George.

It reads:

42, BRODIE AVE.
MOSSLEY HILL
LIVERPOOL 18.

Dear Susan,

I hope you had a good chrimbo, and have a happy nuclear ☮ too. Thank you for giving my mum flowers and chocs. [It was you wasn’t it??] Thanks also for the card, in fact THANKS A HEAP SUSAN. “Your too kind” John Lennon

Instructions for washing car:-

1/. Use plenty of soapy clean water, preferably warm.

2/. When car is [though it may take a lot of water]- clean, leave to dry off for about 20 minutes. [You can have a cup of tea now].

3/ Now ask mother to find some dusters, [2 each] and with the polish, apply with no.1 duster over an area of about 1 sq foot at a time, in a circular motion. Don’t leave it too long before polishing off. This should be carried out until the car is spotless, and gleaming clean. [Don’t forget the wheels!]

4/. Take 1 brush or vacuum cleaner, and have a bash at the carpets. They too can be made to look like new.

5/. The windows [interior] should be polished now, after which you can retire for another tea.

6/. Before returning home, I suggest you look over the car again, for any parts you may have missed out, on finding, they should be cleaned accordingly.

7/. Now proceed to 20 Forthlin RD. with about 6 buckets full of dirty muddy greasey water, where a shiney Ford Classic will be seen. Spread contents of the buckets evenly, so as to leave a nice film of muck over the car. You can now return home knowing you have done your deed for the day. Thank you!!!

Thanks again for the cheerio for now don’t forget Ban the Bog.

Love from George [Harrison] xxxxxx

(pic of the actual letter after the jump)

(incidentally, the Ford Classic at Forthlin Road belonged to Paul McCartney!)

13 Comments

  1. ___ said,

    May 26, 2010 at 7:22 pm

    haha! that would be hilarious if they actualy did that to paul’s car!

  2. Aly said,

    May 26, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    Hahaha! Brilliant. And it would be pretty funny (but suck as well) if that was done to Paul’s car.

  3. Anna said,

    May 26, 2010 at 10:34 pm

    I’ve seen this before. I was killing myself laughing the first time I read it! 😀

  4. this george fan said,

    May 26, 2010 at 11:18 pm

    this is proof that he really was the funny one

  5. Julia said,

    May 26, 2010 at 11:23 pm

    This is one of the cutest, funniest notes I’ve ever read. If only more people appreciated his humor. I’ll try washing my car like that next time, and look around the neighborhood for any ford classics (: Thank you for yet another intriguing look into George.

  6. marietita said,

    May 28, 2010 at 3:06 am

    lol! ❤ it!!
    I have a lot of images of george. if you want them let me know, I will send to you 😀
    by the way, Iove your blog 🙂

    byee!!

  7. Sophie said,

    May 28, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    I’ll never ever tire of this letter, it’s brilliant! “now proceed to 20 Forthlin Road…” hahahaahahaha, oh George!!

  8. go george said,

    June 2, 2010 at 12:03 am

    this is sooo funny! ha poor paul… I love George!!!!! its a little bit of a random letter but its still so funny. I really love your blog!

  9. TaxmansGirl said,

    June 2, 2010 at 3:25 am

    Thank you so much for sharing this is so great!!!!!!! Oh George, can you get any cuter? 🙂

  10. Hannah said,

    September 21, 2010 at 12:14 pm

    I love George’s handwriting. That’s one of the funniest things I’ve read. Thank you for sharing! 😀

  11. Eva said,

    March 24, 2011 at 11:31 pm

    Ahahahahhahaha!This made me die laughing.Oh,how i love Geo and Paul!!!!

  12. Eva said,

    March 24, 2011 at 11:32 pm

    I have his same handwriting also…

  13. bibi said,

    April 28, 2011 at 11:52 pm

    oh I writting this way too, I man I also use writting and pressing letters together LOL


Leave a Reply

