Mystery Pic: Tired or Enjoying a Solo?

Here’s a pic that stumps even me. Viewer Betty sent it in. While we agreed that it must be at the Wonderwall Premiere, judging from his clothing and hairstyle, the action(or lack of) in the photo had us in discussion.

When I’ve seen this pic, I’ve often thought it was George wearing that same outfit, but at another time, and playing guitar and just really getting into a solo. Now that I think about it, it really wasn’t George’s style to do this. He was pretty subdued.

Betty’s inquiry about the pic seemed to point in an entirely new direction–looking at it in another way, he could be asleep and leaning back against a chair or couch.

He could also be looking up at something and caught in mid-blink.

Does anyone have a picture of this that doesn’t cut him off at the chest? Seeing a little more of him would definitely help. But then again, don’t we always want to see a little more George? ;D

15 Comments

  1. Sabrina said,

    April 22, 2010 at 8:33 pm

    I think the middle photo here at least is from the same day:

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/the_first_rays/4459031341/sizes/o/

  2. tahlia said,

    April 23, 2010 at 4:32 am

    it looks like a moment of relaxation…so adorable!

  3. AuroraSkye said,

    April 23, 2010 at 2:01 pm

    The pic above (and the others that Sabrina linked to) are all from “Let It Be.” (and the “Get Back” book that came out with the boxed “Let it Be” back in the early ’70s. Hope that helps.

  4. Anna said,

    April 23, 2010 at 5:37 pm

    We always want to see more of George!! *Squees* šŸ˜€

    I love your blog so much. I’ve been keeping an eye on it for a while and I check it daily, but this is my first comment. Yay! Keep up the good work; it’s a lovely little George convention we have here!

  5. tahlia said,

    April 23, 2010 at 11:14 pm

    he looks like he’s taking a much-needed breather….so adorable.

  6. BeatlesLove said,

    April 28, 2010 at 9:11 pm

    it looks like hes sleeping to me! i can picture it now he falls asleep and then whoever was around was like “GET THE CAMERA! George is asleep!!” *click* idk thats just what poped into my head when i saw it

  7. Sandy said,

    April 28, 2010 at 10:54 pm

    I always thought it was from Let It Be…

  8. AuroraSkye said,

    April 29, 2010 at 1:41 am

    As I mentioned before — it is from “Let It Be” — I think he was rocking out to “You’ve really got a hold on me” (but that i am not sure of) and he was playing guitar and leaning back – rocking back and forth to the music. (It has been a long time since I have been able to see “Let It Be”) He sure was cute in that wasn’t he?! šŸ˜€

    • puppatoons said,

      April 29, 2010 at 2:31 am

      Yeah, this was always my theory. But one odd thing is that I don’t see a guitar strap…

  9. AuroraSkye said,

    April 29, 2010 at 2:50 am

    oh very good point….about the guitar strap, puppatoons …. šŸ™‚

  10. tahlia said,

    April 29, 2010 at 1:58 pm

    i thought this was from “Wonderwall” (1968)? I know it’s theoretically (and probably highly) possible, but other than stage costumes you never really saw him wear the same suits out in public. Most of what I’ve seen for “let it be” was much more…subdued.

  11. giovii said,

    April 29, 2010 at 11:05 pm

    I think that it’s from Let It Be, because you can see a music shelf ( idk what’s the name of that in front of him), thought. And he might be sitted, so he wasn’t wearing a guitar strap.
    Idk, I’ve seen a lot of George pics and films and he doesn’t wear guitar strap always, at least not when he’s sitted

  12. AuroraSkye said,

    April 30, 2010 at 1:05 am

    Well, it is not in the actual film of “Let It Be” (I just checked) LOLOL — but it IS from the “Let It Be” sessions, (They had at least 30 hours of film of the Beatles from the filming of “Let It Be”), and in the “Get Back” book that has photos from those “LTB” sessions. In the movie, George leans back, in a similar fashion while singing “You’ve Really got a Hold on me” – but he was wearing something different. šŸ™‚
    It was fun doing the research on this because I got to drool over George in “Let It Be” again! (giggles) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1NNTWQnersQ&feature=related <— "Let It Be" part one. šŸ™‚

    • puppatoons said,

      April 30, 2010 at 2:20 am

      SO it looks as if we’re close to solving the mystery and maybe my original theory wasn’t too far off:Leaning back singing, enjoying the music, etc.

      (but I secretly wished it was a sleepy pic)

  13. Betty said,

    May 1, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    I think he is sleeping because he appears to be leaning against something. He just looks too relaxed but who knows. I would like to see another picture.


Leave a Reply

