George’s Un-Birthday?

So apparently a story went around years ago that George learned he was born ten minutes before midnight instead of ten minutes after, and therefore was confused, thinking he’d been celebrating his birthday on the wrong day(Feb 25) all this time. I can’t confirm this,and I know of a contradictory story but I can’t find it. D:

In the article, Louise Harrison, his sister, couldn’t understand how the story got started–she said it was written in a family bible that he was born ten minutes after midnight and that was that.

Do take note, however, that if you read the “about” section of this site, that Lou was not actually present at his birth, but got up the next morning and discovered he’d been born.

Another interesting fact is that Louise Harrison, George’s mother, used to always call him at midnight on his birthday, no matter where he was in the world.

So was George born on the 24th or 25th? We may never know for sure. So, to make it easier on poor ol’ Georgie, we’ll just celebrate it both days and be done with it.

If you have a favorite picture to post, please do so in  comment!

George turns 24 in India, and gets his head caught when too many flower garlands are bestowed upon him.

6 Comments

  1. Ellie said,

    February 24, 2010 at 9:18 pm

    George is one of the only people I wouldn’t mind celebrating two days for =)
    I never knew the mix-up about his birthday. That must have been very confusing for him. I guess maybe I should be glad that no one knows what time I was born, I just know it was the second =)
    As for a favourite picture of George, I’ve seen sooo many, and he looked beautiful in every one<3

  2. Tahlia said,

    February 25, 2010 at 3:12 am

    How cute! Happy birthday George. You still have a strong following, and so many of us still love you.

  3. February 25, 2010 at 1:21 pm

    http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=202466&id=100000111950684 I don’t know if you can see this picture, but if not I’ll just send it to you via-email. My e-mail is:
    prettylittlespencer@gmail.com
    Thanks!

  4. Bonni said,

    February 25, 2010 at 5:36 pm

  5. Joy said,

    March 5, 2011 at 12:46 am

    Thank you Bonni for those pictures you sent. I especially LOVE the second one in fact I just put it on as my ‘wallpaper’ on my computer.

    Wasn’t he the most gorgeous guy in the world?

    Oh George you surely are missed – love you so much!

    You really are MY SWEET LORD – HARE KRISHNA


Leave a Reply

