Happy Beatles-on-Ed-Sullivan Day!

Can you believe it was 46 years ago that The Beatles appeared on Ed Sullivan?

Alas, it almost wasn’t to be from George, as he was quite sick beforehand,bedridden pretty much from the time they arrived in America until right before the Boys were scheduled to go on.The hotel doctor shot George full of medicine and a whopping dose of amphetamines and he was driven to the studio.It is amazing what a lively performance he gave that night.

Since his sister Louise had flown to the hotel to take care of her brother–she had emigrated to America with her husband a few years before–I had the opportunity to actually ask her, “What was actually wrong with George?” when I got  to meet her.She said she really wasn’t sure if it was ever said–it was either the flu or strep throat,but that he was definitely ill,with a high fever. She also quipped, “The doctor entrusted me with his care, since I was the only female in the United States at that very moment who could  be around him and keep her mental facilities”.:)

7 Comments

  1. February 13, 2010 at 1:27 am

    Nice Post and images. I have been watching the Beatles Anthology since New Years Day…it’s amazing how much energy you can still feel from this performance…I love them!

  2. Amanda H. said,

    March 5, 2010 at 6:57 pm

    Aww!

    Was he still sick on the way to Washington D.C. because in “The Beatles First U.S. Visit” on the train ride over, he was still coughing so was he coming off of his flu/strep or was it still going strong? That could explain why he was napping up in the luggage rack (…how did he get up there, anyway?) because he was feeling tired and flu-ish. Poor thing 😦

    • puppatoons said,

      March 5, 2010 at 9:20 pm

      I was wondering the same thing myself–I mean, how did he get over his illness so quickly, or did he, even? He is coughing pretty hard on that train ride, but I’m not sure if it’s from being sick or just a smoker’s cough(which he definitely had).
      I think he was just being silly up in the luggage rack, but I have NO idea how he got up there. Young and fit, is all I can say! XD

      • Amanda H. said,

        March 7, 2010 at 9:56 pm

        Yeah…dang it, now that’s going to drive me crazy wondering if George was sick up until he got Miami. (which I kind of doubt)

        It could be a smoker’s cough. It sounded pretty phlegm-y :/

        Hahah, probably! He’s like a limber little kitty! XD

  3. Betty said,

    April 12, 2010 at 2:04 pm

    George was picked up by a couple of photographers and put on the luggage rack. He did not get up there by himself. I have the picture showing this. If anyone wants the picture, email me and I will send it to you.

    Being young and fit if you get sick you still can do things. On another note he was too young to have a smokers cough, that happens when you get older and after years of smoking. The cough was due to a cold.

  4. beatlebug4evr said,

    November 11, 2011 at 12:04 am

    how did u get to meet her? O.O that sounds really cool!


Leave a Reply

