Rangy.

noshirt2

I’ve read that George was often very uncomfortable about how thin he was, and didn’t care to be seen without a shirt. There’s a rather sweet passage in The White Book dealing with this. George and Pattie heard guests arriving at their house while they were out lounging by their pool. George quickly grabbed a long sleeved shirt from a chair and put it on, and the guests thought nothing of it. Later, out of earshot of George, Pattie explained to the guests that George was embarrassed about his slimness and didn’t really want to be seen without his shirt.

I admit, he’s pretty gangly here(I’m guessing he probably grew even thinner once he became a vegetarian), but he had great arms.

I am 99% certain this is from a photo session that eventually gave us the psychedelic images of The Beatles. Here is George’s:

beathp

9 Comments

  1. Smits said,

    August 12, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    *boggles*

    I was not prepared for this picture.

    Oh my.

    *steals him*

    YOU SAW NOTHING.

    (He IS terribly little and spindly, though, isn’t he? Goodness, Geo.)

    • puppatoons said,

      August 12, 2009 at 10:30 pm

      I know..he’s just all gristle and tendon, the little dear.:)

      His father was a rather narrow fellow, too,but I’ve read that spent 6 weeks in the hospital when he was around 11 – 13 with nephritis,which can somewhat stunt muscle and bone growth. That’s a young boy’s prime years to really start growing; I can’t help but wonder if his illness might have made him so thin?

  2. Ronit said,

    August 13, 2009 at 9:17 pm

    Aww..he sounds just like those tiny 5th graders that are Uncomfortable with their body.
    He looks so darn cute in this one.

  3. Amanda said,

    November 24, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    Aww, I didn’t know that about poor George.
    It always surprises me when I hear about the Beatles having body issues or being embarrassed about themselves. Just goes to show, right? They’re human. πŸ™‚
    That top picture is pretty hot though.

  4. TaxmansGirl said,

    May 15, 2010 at 3:30 am

    Awww he has nothing to feel uncomfortable about πŸ˜€ He’s great the way he is, and yes, he has very nice arms lol

  5. lovelyrita said,

    October 13, 2010 at 4:28 am

    george had nothing to be ashamed of. he looks totally hot in the top pic! i prefer him without a shirt, actually…. πŸ™‚

  6. Leah said,

    October 20, 2010 at 5:47 pm

    This is a great little George site! Just wanted to add my two-cents in: The two photos are from the same photo shoot – You are correct! He actually didn’t want the body paint on him, so they took a photo of him without the paint and added it to the photos later.. kind of like photoshop these days.

    • puppatoons said,

      October 20, 2010 at 7:51 pm

      that is reeeally interesting. Kinda of odd, though…I always got the impression George was a little kinky…don’t know why, really..I would have thought he would have liked trying out the paint.
      then again, if he was shy about his body even being seen, I guess he totally wouldn’t want someone painting it. That’s an art assignment I would have loved..I would have been gentle with him.:D

      • Leah said,

        October 21, 2010 at 3:02 am

        Hahhahahahah! I probably wouldn’t have been too gentle..


Leave a Reply

