The Updated “George” Mini!

From the Mini Cooper(BMW) website:

In celebration of the 50th birthday of the MINI automobile, the company has recreated and updated George Harrison’s original MINI.

harrison mini

In 1966, Beatles manager Brian Epstein gave each member of the band a Mini Cooper S as a gift. George Harrison took his car and painted it with different psychedelic images. The car was later seen in The Beatles’ film, Magical Mystery Tour. MINI has recreated Harrison’s car in an updated version, with the one and only model going to Olivia Harrison. The car was accepted by the Beatle’s widow on behalf of the Material Charitable Foundation, a charity set up by George in 1973. The car will be auctioned later this year, with proceeds going to the foundation. Olivia Harrison had this to say, “George was a huge MINI fan and he would have enjoyed creating this new version. The fact that MINI’s anniversary celebrations will also benefit our Foundation has made it an enjoyable as well as meaningful collaboration.”

ISN’T IT THE CUTEST CAR EVER? OMG, I want one. Too bad there IS only one.

4 Comments

  1. May 14, 2009 at 10:19 pm

    […] Original post by puppatoons […]

  2. Smits said,

    May 15, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    I love the George car. Cutest freakin’ Mini EVER.

    And now, they’ve updated it–STILL CUTE.

    This makes me hope that Corgi or…some other really nice toy/collectible company might get the rights to make die-cast sets of the original and the new one. Then have a portion of the proceeds from those go to the same charity.

    If all else fails, I hope that lots of good reference photos pop up after the sale so I can paint my own mini Mini.

  3. David Jones said,

    November 20, 2009 at 11:29 pm

    I am not sure if you are talking about the same mini George drove in the mid ’60s, I do remember George having a black Radford mini that he later painted in Tantra art.
    The mini was superbly comfortable with electric windows. In the late 60s George lent the mini to Eric Clapton who at the time was in a relationship with the sweet and lovely Alice Ormsby-Gore. Eric in turn lent the mini to Alice who was quite emotional at the time. It was during one of these low points that Alice had an argument with someone and bent the car around of a lamppost!
    I never heard what happened to the car after the accident I think it might have been a right-off. It was the last time I saw either Alice or the car.
    I always had my eyes on the Radford mini and once Eric had finished with it was desperate to lay my hands on it.

    • puppatoons said,

      November 21, 2009 at 3:39 am

      David, I know who you are, and how incredibly honored I am to see you commenting in this blog.
      Please understand that many of my comments are, of course, only my fangirlish observations. If you happen to look through this blog and see anything inaccurate, or downright ridiculous, please let me know.
      I myself would love a Mini, but it would be a most impractical car for me; hauling around a puppet stage requires a larger vehicle.Still,I can dream.:)


Leave a Reply

